Join our friendly cat community

Nominate your animal welfare heroes

Nominate your animal welfare heroes

The search is on for outstanding vets, vet nurses, animal welfare professionals, and animal welfare teams for the prestigious Ceva Animal Welfare Awards 2018.

Members of the public are being invited to nominate individuals and teams who they think deserve recognition of their work with animals. Nominees can come from all walks of life, be any age, and come from anywhere in the world.

The Ceva Animal Welfare Awards were launched in 2010 to celebrate the achievements of remarkable people from the farming, veterinary, and charity sectors.

The award categories for 2018 include:

The Chris Laurence Vet of the Year Award supported by Your Dog and Your Cat magazines

This award will recognise a vet working in practice who consistently demonstrates their commitment to the continued improvement of animal welfare.

Vet Nurse of the Year supported by Agria Pet Insurance

This award will give recognition to a veterinary nurse who has shown real commitment to improving and championing excellent animal welfare within their surgery.

Charity Team of the Year supported by PDSA

This award is for an awe-inspiring team whose drive, passion, and dedication has changed the lives of animals for the better.

Charitable Contribution of the Year supported by Blue Cross

This award is for an individual who works within a charity, either in a paid or voluntary role, with the single-minded goal of helping save and improve the lives of animals in need.

Farm Animal Welfare Award supported by R.A.B.I. and NADIS

This award is for an individual or team who have dedicated their careers to the health and welfare of production animals.

International Cat Care Welfare Award supported by International Cat Care

This prestigious award recognises an individual who has made a significant contribution to the development of feline welfare. The recipient of this award is chosen by International Cat Care and therefore the category is not open to nominations.

The winners and runners up will be picked by a judging panel including Christopher Laurence MBE BVSc, and James Yeates, chief vet at the RSPCA. They will receive their awards at a glittering ceremony on April 4, 2018.

“Over the last eight years we have been consistently humbled by the inspirational nominations we’ve received from all over the world, and we envisage 2018 will be no exception,” comments Ceva Animal Health managing director, Cuneyt Seckin.

“The Ceva Animal Welfare Awards champion people involved in animal welfare, but they also raise awareness of their important work among wider audiences.”

If you know a vet, vet nurse, animal welfare professional, or animal welfare team who deserves to be recognised for their ongoing commitment to animal welfare, you can nominate them for an award by visiting Entries close on Friday, January 26, 2018.